Loading... Please wait...

View cart & manage account

Suite for solo viola (physical score)

  • Image 1
  • Image 2
Calculated at checkout

solo viola
Year composed:
c. 12–13 mins
220x305, pp12, saddle-stapled (digital download available here)
The heart of the suite is an omnipresent motif that forms the focus of the first, third and fifth movements. The second and fourth movements provide character and contrast, by developing the motif’s colours. The piece introduced a new sense of rhythmic freedom in my music, with the rhythms of the motif and its development dictating the phrasing and metre. My love of Bartók, especially at the time of writing, comes through both in the aesthetic and structure, not dissimilar to his fourth quartet in its palindromic five-movement form, which also includes a pizzicato character movement. The piece was composed over three years, with each movement being added successively, the first movement being one of the first started but one of the last finished, while the third was the final piece of the puzzle.

Most of the movements were premiered individually at successive Nelson Composer Workshops by Alex MacDonald, whose commitment to the work was a driving factor over the years of writing. The work is dedicated to him.


Product Videos

  • Glen Downie – ...
    Glen Downie – Suite for Solo Viola (dedicated to Alex MacDonal...